Oslob · Whale shark watching

Oslob · Whale shark watching

I came across Christan Leblanc’s Youtube channel when I was doing some travel research in December. He was traveling around in Asia for a few months and also in the Philippines. His daily vlogs were really helpful for my journey, also the one from the whale sharks in Oslob. Whale sharks are the biggest sharks and fish in the ocean, but don’t worry, they only eat plankton 🙂


Snorkeling with whale sharks – experience, personal opinion & advice 

Tourist come in hords from Cebu City to snorkel or at least to see these giants. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to go and swim with the whalesharks because I got super sick the night before; but my boyfriend went to see the whale sharks and I will tell you everything from his point of view. Maybe you’ve already noticed that I don’t recommend any restaurants in my previous posts from the Philippines. It’s because the night before the whale sharks I got really bad stomach cramps, blackouts etc. And because I didn’t know what food got me sick, I don’t recommend any restaurants.

I’ve always been a bit sceptic when it comes to the whale shark attraction in Oslob because they’re being fed in order to garantee the daily presence of whale sharks on site. Otherwise they wouldn’t make any money. Whale sharks come to eat and when they finished, they leave the site. Basically they’re free to go whenever they want to, but in my opinion it’s not in their nature to be fed. In addition, they get used to us human beings. In order to counteract, the organizers explain the tourists before they get to the boats how to behave properly in the water e.g. to keep distance and not to touch the whale sharks.

A ticket for one person costs 1000PHP, it’s a crazy price! You’ll only have 30 minutes to swim in the water. You can lend snorkeling equiment and underwater cameras on site for extra money. Also, there is a whale shark watching fee that you have to pay in addition to the 1000PHP. Filipinos collect fees for everything. As there are so many tourists arriving every day, I’d recommend going there as early as possible. My boyfriend left the accommodation at 5.30 a.m.

There are two possibilities: Either you swim with the whale sharks or you stay in the boat (which is less expensive – 500PHP). Some tourist who stay in the boat want to show their family pictures of the whale sharks. They literally throw themselves (with a life vest) off the boat, get pulled under water by a Filipino and another Filipino takes a picture. Well, that must be really funny to watch 🙂

All in all I guess it is a nice experience. For those of you who want to avoid Oslob because of ethical reasons, there is still the possibility to swim with whale sharks in the Philippines. Whale sharks at Donsol Bay are not fed, but of course there’s no garantie that you’ll spot a whale shark. I’ve seen many websites who recommend going there from February to April, because of peak season.

For more information I’d recommend visiting the Youtube channel of Rob Brand as well as Christian Leblancs channel. I’ll link both their videos about the whale sharks down below:

Rob Brand – Oslob Whale Shark and Tumalog Falls Guide

Christian Leblanc – Whale Sharks of Oslob & Tumalog Waterfall

 

 

G0130739-min

DSC00721-min

DSC00613-min

DSC00696-min

DSC00610-min


Where to sleep – info & advice

Most tourists book their accommodation assuming that the spot for whale shark watching is in the village Oslob. In fact, it actually is located a bit further south from Oslob (about 9km). There are only a few accommodations right next to the location, some are really expensive. If you’re looking for a resort with modern furniture, a calm location and beach access, I can only recommend The Farm in Lilo-An, the very southern point of Cebu Island.

I found this pretty place on booking.com. For my journey, this was an excellent accommodation because the port is only a five minute tricycle drive away and you’ll only need 10min to the whale sharks. The price for one room is actually quite good, given the modern facilities and the excellent service. One night costs 37€, including breakfast. So whoever wants to continue his/her journey to Dumaguete, Negros, is best advised to stay there because of it’s good location. However, there is no direct connection from Lilo-An to Dumaguete. First, you take a boat to Sibulan, Negros, and continue to Dumaguete with a tricycle which only takes you less than half an hour in total.

If you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask me.

Leave a Comment

Leave A Comment Your email address will not be published

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Allgemein Philippinen

Oslob · Schnorcheln mit Walhaien

Im Dezember bin ich auf den Youtube-Kanal von Christian Leblanc gestoßen. Er war zu dieser Zeit auf den Philippinen unterwegs und hat Daily Vlogs von seiner Reise hochgestellt, unter anderem auch von den Walhaien in Oslob. Walhaie sind die größten Haie und gleichzeitig auch die größten Fische in unseren Meeren. Keine Sorge, Sie ernähren sich nur von Plankton 🙂

 


Schnorcheln mit Walhaien – Erfahrung, persönliche Meinung & Tipps

Ganze Schwärme an Touristen reisen täglich von Cebu City an, um diese Erfahrung zu machen. Ich war leider nicht in der Lage, mit den Walhaien zu schwimmen und werde euch deswegen über die Erfahrung von meinem Freund berichten. Vielleicht ist euch schon in den anderen Blogeinträgen aufgefallen, dass ich keine Restaurant-Tipps gebe und das ist der Grund dafür: In der Nacht vor dem Schnorcheln habe ich kaum geschlafen, da ich die ganze Nacht fürchterliche Magenschmerzen, Kreislaufprobleme etc. hatte. Da ich mir nicht sicher bin wo ich mir meinen Magen verstimmt habe, gibt es für die meisten Orte auch keine Restaurant-Empfehlungen.

Von Anfang an stand ich dieser “Attraktion” etwas kritisch gegenüber. Warum? Walhaie werden täglich mit Futter angelockt. Somit garantieren die Organisatoren, dass die Walhaie jeden Tag vor Ort sind. Natürlich können Walhaie kommen und gehen wann sie wollen, aber man nimmt ihnen durch die Fütterung ein Stück ihrer Natur weg. Sie gewöhnen sich an die Fütterung, kommen jeden Tag und erleben Menschen aus nächster Nähe. Die Organisatoren möchten dem Ganzen entgegenwirken und sehen dafür Verhaltensmaßnahmen vor. Bevor sich Touristen in die Boote begeben können, gibt es eine kurze Einweisung über das richtige Verhalten in der Nähe der Walhaie wie z. B. genügend Abstand zu halten oder sie nicht zu streicheln.

Der Spaß kostet 1000PHP. Und wer denkt, man hat so viel Zeit wie man will, leigt leider falsch. Ihr zahlt 1000PHP für 30 Minuten. 30 Minuten! Dazu kommen noch 100PHP “Whale Watching Fee”. Ihr werdet schnell merken, dass Filipinos für alles noch zusätzlich noch eine Fee verlangen. In Oslob ist das “Whale shark watching” die reinste Massenabfertigung. Seid also so früh wie möglich dort (ca. 6 Uhr morgens), um die endlos lange Warteschlange zu vermeiden. Vor Ort könnt ihr euch Unterwasserkameras und Schnorchel Ausrüstung gegen Gebühr ausleihen.

Es gibt die Möglichkeit mit den Walhaien zu schwimmen oder sie vom Boot aus zu beobachten (das ist natürlich billiger und kostet nur 500PHP). Ungefähr mehr als die Hälfte der Touristen kann nicht schwimmen und bleibt deswegen im Boot. Um Freunden und Familie Fotos von den Walhaien zeigen zu können, werden manche Nicht-Schwimmer mit Schwimmweste ins Wassergeschmissen, von einem Filipino bei den Füßen unter Wasser gezogen und von einem anderen Filipino fotografiert. Ist bestimmt lustig zu beobachten 😉

Im Großen und Ganzen ist es auf jeden Fall eine Erfahrung wert. Wer aber aus ethischen Gründen auf diese “Attraktion” verzichten möchte, kann auch auf Donsol Bay (Philippinen) mit den Riesen schwimmen. Diese werden dort nicht gefüttert. Aber deswegen gibt es keine Garantie darauf, dass Walhaie auftauchen (Hochsaison ist von Februar bis April).

Mehr zu den Walhaien in Oslob findest du auch auf Rob Brands sowie Christian Leblancs Youtube Kanal. Ich habe beide Kanäle für die Reise sehr hilfreich gefunden – verlinke beide Videos hier.

Rob Brand – Oslob Whale Shark and Tumalog Falls Guide

Christian Leblanc – Whale Sharks of Oslob & Tumalog Waterfall

 

G0130739-min

DSC00721-min

DSC00613-min

DSC00696-min

DSC00610-min


Schlafen in Oslob – Infos & Tipps

Die meisten Touristen wissen gar nicht, dass der Spot zum Walhai-Schwimmen nicht im Ort Oslob liegt. Sie buchen eine Unterkunft direkt in Oslob, ungefähr 9km vom Geschehen entfernt. Es gibt nur eine handvoll Unterkünfte direkt neben dem Schnorchel Spot. Diese sind preislich gesehen die teuersten.

Ich habe auf booking.com ein sehr liebes Resort namens The Farm entdeckt, das an der südlichen Spitze von Cebu Island in Lilo-An liegt – ungefähr 10min Tricyle-Fahrt zu den Whale Sharks. Es ist nicht zu teuer, relativ neu und modern eingerichtet. Der Preis für ein Zimmer und zwei Personen (inkl. Frühstück) liegt bei ungefähr 37€. Dieses Resort liegt (5min Fahrt) in der Nähe des Hafens, wo die Boote nach Negros abfahren. Wer also nach dem Schnorcheln nach Dumaguete möchte, kann von dort aus ein Ticket nach Sibulan, Negros kaufen. Von dort aus sind es nur 10min nach Dumaguete.

Falls ihr noch Fragen habt, lasst es mich in den Kommentaren unten wissen!

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply