Travels Thailand

Ko Lanta · Impressions

After a few days of island-hopping in the area of Krabi, we headed South to relax on the beautiful island of Ko Lanta for three days. We both wished to stay a few more days, but unfortunately I had already planned and booked everything ahead, so we had to move on. One thing is absolutely certain: I’ll come back! Tourism hasn’t reached this island so far and the many beach bars and restaurants alongside beach Klong Khong have this unique flair and offer stunning sunset views. Enough talking, you can see the beauty of this island (or at least the part that I visited) for yourselves in this blog post!

However, there is one thing I’d like you to know before I start telling you more about my stay on Ko Lanta (this shouldn’t be a reason for you to not go on the island, but): there are only a few hours of tide on the Western side of the island. This means that there will be a short period of time (about three to four hours) for you to properly snorkel or swim in the ocean. While snorkeling, I realized that the longer I was in the water, the closer I came to the corals/stones on the ground and almost touching them. Which was a funny thing to realize of course, but when you spend the entire day sunbathing and there is no water to cool off – the only way to do so is by taking a dip in the pool or (if there isn’t any pool) to take a shower. With that being said, let’s continue with my favorite parts: tasty food and beautiful sunsets.

 


Restaurants & Bars

Thai cuisine is one of my favorites and I get picky when it comes to finding good food at a reasonable price. Fortunately, that wasn’t too big of a problem since my hotel had a reeeaaally good cook and super delicious pancakes for breakfast.

And my favorite place on the whole island of Ko Lanta? Cloud 9 Beach Bar & Restaurant at Klong Khong beach. It’s where I spent my evenings eating delicious Thai meals and drinking cocktails for local prices. This place has been one of my favorites in the whole of Thailand. I have never felt more relaxed on a holiday: Thai cushions, hammocks combined with stunning sunset, the sound of the sea, reggae music and, most importantly, delicious cocktails and food… <3 This was the place to be and I wished I would have stayed longer than two nights to come back to this bar every evening. Everybody was just so relaxed.


Where I stayed

What to consider when traveling in Thailand

When traveling in Thailand, don’t let yourself be fooled by the addition of certain words to the hotel name such as Resort, Spa, etc. Most of the time it just sounds great, but in fact it’s just an ordinary accommodation without spa facilities. Plus, in Thailand there is no such thing as ratings for * categories, meaning that every hotel can indicate whatever star category they like to. Of course, 5* hotels offer more services and facilities, but in the end it’s up to us customers to book the right hotel without being disappointed at our arrival. So I highly recommend looking through reviews on booking.com or any booking website and also have a look at the pictures on Tripadvisor. Since we only slept in the room, I was looking for a basic double room at a hotel that offered direct access to the beach and a restaurant at a good price. In my case, I wanted to book a Standard Room at New Ozone Resort and Spa, but when I wanted to book this room two years ago there were no pictures included on booking.com to see what the room would look like. So I headed over to Tripadvisor and found some “traveler photos” of the room. I always make sure to have a look at reviews and also at some pictures before booking.

New Ozone Resort and Spa

New Ozone Resort and Spa offered exactly what I wanted – massages on the beach, good food and beach access and that for only 2,400THB (64€) for two nights and two persons in a Standard Room (not a Bungalow).

Next time, I would like to try find a hotel somewhere else on the island because I don’t think I have seen all its beauty. Don’t get me wrong, Klong Khong Beach was pretty amazing, but as I only stayed there for two nights there wasn’t much time to explore Ko Lanta or the surrounding islands. Anywhere you would recommend for me to go?

 

 

 

 

How to get there

Easily accessible from Krabi via minivan

You can organize a transfer from Krabi – in my case, the minivan picked us up at the hotel and let us get out in front of our accommodation on Ko Lanta. We didn’t book with our Bed and Breakfast, because hotels normally charge a higher price. But right in the alley of our hotel there is a “tour agency” – which is not a regular shop but a small stand, very typical for Thailand – that offered the best price deals for island-hopping tours and transfers. On a side note: minivan drivers are the craziest in Thailand, there are exceptions of course, but the majority doesn’t care about street limits. (We crossed villages with about 120km/h!) You’ll get used to it, but this was the first minivan transfer in my life and to be honest, I was a bit scared ^^

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Reisen Thailand

Ko Lanta · Impressions

Nachdem ich ein paar Tage in Krabi damit verbracht hatte, mit einem menschenüberfüllten Boot von einer Insel zur nächsten zu fahren, war es dann endlich an der Zeit, mich etwas zu entspannen und Auszeit von den touristenüberfüllten Gegenden zu nehmen. Wir hatten vor der Reise bereits alles gebucht und drei Tage auf Ko Lanta geplant gehabt. Leider waren drei Tage nicht genug auf dieser wunderbaren Insel. Ko Lanta scheint vor dem üblichen Touristenandrang verschont geworden zu sein und lockt mit wunderschönen Sonnenuntergängen und lässigen Bars ein paar Touristen an, die es in ihrem Urlaub etwas ruhiger angehen möchten. Ich plane auf jeden Fall nochmal ein, dort hin zurück zu kehren. Aber gut, genug geredet! Ihr könnt euch ja von meinen Urlaubsfotos von dieser idyllischen Insel überzeugen lassen.

Eines möchte ich gleich vorwegnehmen: Während meines Aufenthalts auf der Westseite der Insel fiel mir auf, dass schwimmen und schnorcheln nur in einem Zeitfenster von drei bis vier Stunden aufgrund des ansonsten niedrigen Wasserspiegels möglich war. Oder zumindest war das der Fall am Strandabschnitt meines Hotels. Mit Mopeds lassen sich umliegende Strände und Gegenden bestimmt gut erkunden und somit könnte man auch die Ebbe auf der Westseite umgehen. Eine andere Alternative wäre auch ein Hotel mit Pool oder noch einfacher – sich einfach schnell am Strand abduschen falls man den Körper kühlen möchte. Natürlich kommt es auch auf den Standard des Hotels darauf an, was angeboten wird – wir hatten zum Beispiel kein Swimmingpool, was aber kein Problem für uns war.

Dies sollte aber kein Grund sein, nicht nach Ko Lanta zu fahren. Ganz im Gegenteil: Ko Lanta hat dafür malerische Sonnenuntergänge in gemütlichem Ambiente zu bieten.

 


Restaurants & Bars

Die Bars entlang des Klong Khong Strandabschnitts schreien mit ihrer Musik und gepolsterten Einrichtung gerade nach Erholung. Mein Lieblingsplatz auf Ko Lanta? Cloud 9 Beach Bar & Restaurant! Dieser Ort gehört zu meinen Favoriten in ganz Thailand. Und das i-Tüpfelchen der ganzen Sache: lockere Reggea Musik, Hängematten, leckeres Essen und erfrischende Cocktails zu lokalen Preisen – da kann man sich einfach nur zurücklegen und entspannen.

Die thailändische Küche ist eine meiner Lieblingsküchen. Deswegen bin ich umso wählerischer was das Essen und den Preis dort betrifft. Aber das war auf Ko Lanta überhaupt kein Problem. Auch mein Hotel hat super fluffige Pancakes mit Bananenstücken und Ahornsirup zum Frühstück gehabt, yum yum yum!


Meine Unterkunft auf Ko Lanta

Wissenswertes zur Sterne-Kategorisierung in Thailand

Da es in Thailand keine einheitliche Regel für eine Kategorisierung in Sternen gibt, können sich Hotels sozusagen die Sterne selbst “geben”. Natürlich hat ein 5* Hotel viel besseren Service und eine luxuriösere Ausstattung, aber auch 4* Hotels können das gleiche bieten und das zu einem günstigeren Preis. Die Grenzen sind da sehr verschwimmend. Vor allem die Hinzufügung von sehr kompetent klingenden Nomen führt viele Touristen zum Teil ins Irre: Spa und Resort klingen doch viel besser und leider verfügen diese Unterkünfte dann des öfteren nicht über einen Spa und sehen nicht aus, wie sich Europäer ein Resort vorstellen würden. Um etwaige Enttäuschungen vorzubeugen, verbringe ich doch einige Zeit damit, im Internet zu recherchieren – auf der Buchungswebsite selbst (vor allem die Bewertungen sind wichtig!) und Fotos von Reisenden auf Tripadvisor können somit vorbeugen, dass eventuelle Erwartungen nicht erfüllt werden. In meinem Fall, habe ich für das Hotelzimmer auf Ko Lanta keine Fotos auf booking.com gefunden. Da ich nicht blind etwas buchen wollte, habe ich auf Tripadvisor die Fotos durchstöbert und dort welche der neuen Standard-Zimmer finden können.

 

New Ozone Resort and Spa

Meistens sind meine Anforderungen an eine Unterkunft nicht sehr hoch: Strandzugang, gute Lage und Sauberkeit stehen ganz weit oben. Dieses Hotel hat mich mit einem Preis von 64€ für zwei Nächte und zwei Personen überzeugen können. Auch die Bewertungen waren ganz gut. Das Standard-Zimmer war zwar sehr basic eingerichtet, aber da ich kaum Zeit im Zimmer verbringe ist die Zimmerausstattung ja auch nebensächlich.

Meinen nächsten Aufenthalt auf Ko Lanta würde ich gerne in einem anderen Hotel verbringen, einfach weil ich denke dass ich noch nicht alles gesehen habe (zwei Nächte waren definitiv zu kurz) und eventuell der Ebbe somit entgehen könnte. Habt ihr vielleicht einen Hotel-Tipp für mich?

 

 

 

 

 


Wie kommt man nach Ko Lanta?

Von Krabi aus ist Ko Lanta mit dem Minibus sehr gut erreichbar

Es gibt so einige „Agencies“ (in Thailand sind Agencies in Touristenorten eher ein Stand auf der Straße) in Krabi, die „Island-hopping Tours“ und „Transfers“ organisieren. In der Straße meines Bed & Breakfasts habe ich alle Touren und auch den Transfer gebucht. Wir haben viele Preise verglichen und dieser Stand hat die besten Angebote gehabt. Der Minibus hat uns vor der Unterkunft abgeholt und direkt vor dem Hotel in Ko Lanta abgesetzt. Was ich hier jedoch anmerken möchte ist, dass Minibus-Fahrer in Thailand nicht gerne die Geschwindigkeitsbegrenzung einhalten. Das heißt wir sind schon mal mit 120km/h durch Dörfer geprescht und ich muss gestehen, etwas Angst hatte ich schon ^^

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply